2022-23 Academic Calendar

The calendars below are for the current academic year. Links to past, future, and printable calendars are on the sidebar to the right (or at the bottom of this page on mobile devices). Click the buttons below to jump to a particular term.

Fall 2022

Date Deadline/Event
Mon, Aug 29 Fall semester begins
Mon, Sep 5 Labor Day – No classes
Tue, Sep 6 Last day to file petitions for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Mon, Sep 12 Courses dropped after this date will have a “W” for withdrawal recorded on the academic record. Last day to add or drop courses without additional signatures (see Adding and Dropping Courses).
Mon, Sep 19 Last day for students to make up Incomplete or Absence grades (Undergraduate students only)
Tue, Sep 20-Mon, Sep 26 Examinations for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Fri, Sep 23 Deadline to apply for graduation and to submit Final Plan of Study (Undergraduate, Master’s, Sixth-Year, and Graduate Certificate students only) for conferral of a Fall 2022 degree
Tue, Sep 27 Dean’s signature required to add courses
Fri, Oct 7 Mid-semester progress reports due students from faculty
Mon, Oct 24 Registration for the Winter 2023 and Spring 2023 semester via Student Administration System begins
Mon, Nov 14 Last day to withdraw from a course
Last day to place courses on or remove from Pass/Fail grading
Sun, Nov 20-Sat, Nov 26 Thanksgiving Recess
Fri, Dec 2 Last day for Master’s and Doctoral degree candidates to upload final thesis and dissertation to Submittable and submit related paperwork to Degree Audit (degreeaudit@uconn.edu) for conferral of a Fall 2022 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Doctoral dissertation defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending. Plan A Master’s students are not required to announce their defense.
Fri, Dec 9 Last day of fall semester classes
Sat, Dec 10-Sun, Dec 11 Reading Days
Mon, Dec 12 Final examinations begin
Thu, Dec 15 Reading Day
Sun, Dec 18 Final examinations end
Sun, Dec 18 Conferral date for Fall 2022 degrees. Final examinations for Plan B Master’s and Sixth-Year Certificate students must be completed by this date.
Wed, Dec 21 Semester grades due at 4 pm
Fri, Dec 30 Last day for Degree Audit (degreeaudit@uconn.edu) to receive the approved Plan B Master’s and Sixth-Year Certificate Report on the Final Exam form. (Graduate students only)

Spring 2023

Date Deadline/Event
Tue, Jan 17 Spring semester begins
Mon, Jan 23 Last day to file petitions for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Mon, Jan 30 Courses dropped after this date will have a “W” for withdrawal recorded on the academic record. Last day to add or drop courses without additional signatures (see Adding and Dropping Courses).
Mon, Feb 6 Last day for students to make up Incomplete or Absence grades (Undergraduate students only)
Tue, Feb 7-Mon, Feb 13 Examinations for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Fri, Feb 10 Deadline to apply for graduation and to submit Final Plan of Study (Undergraduate, Master’s, Sixth-Year, and Graduate Certificate students only) for conferral of a Spring 2023 degree
Tue, Feb 14 Dean’s signature required to add courses
Fri, Feb 24 Mid-semester progress reports due students from faculty
Wed, Mar 1 Deadline to apply for Summer 2023 graduation to be included in the 2023 Commencement Book
Sun, Mar 12-Sat, Mar 18 Spring Recess
Mon, Mar 20 Registration for the Fall 2023 semester via Student Administration System begins
Sat, Mar 25 Emergency closing class makeup date
Mon, Apr 10 Last day to withdraw from a course
Last day to place courses on or remove from Pass/Fail grading
Fri, Apr 21 Last day for Master’s and Doctoral degree candidates to upload final thesis and dissertation Submittable and submit related paperwork to Degree Audit (degreeaudit@uconn.edu) for conferral of a Spring 2023 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Doctoral dissertation defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending. Plan A Master’s students are not required to announce their defense.
Fri, Apr 28 Last day of spring semester classes
Sat, Apr 29-Sun, Apr 30 Reading Days
Mon, May 1-Sat, May 6 Final examinations
Sat, May 6-Mon, May 8 Commencement ceremonies. For more information, please visit commencement.uconn.edu
Sun, May 7 Conferral date for Spring 2023 degrees. Final examinations for Plan B Master’s and Sixth-Year Certificate students must be completed by this date.
Tue, May 9 Semester grades due at 4pm
Fri, May 19 Last day for Degree Audit (degreeaudit@uconn.edu) to receive the approved Plan B Master’s and Sixth-Year Certificate Report on the Final Exam. (Graduate students only)

Summer 2023

Date Deadline/Event
Fri, June 9 Deadline to apply for graduation and to submit final Plan of Study (Undergraduate, Master’s, Sixth-Year, and Graduate Certificate students only) for conferral of a Summer 2023 degree.
Thu, Aug 10 Last day for Master’s and Doctoral degree candidates to upload final thesis and dissertation Submittable and submit related paperwork to Degree Audit (degreeaudit@uconn.edu) for conferral of a Summer 2023 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Doctoral dissertation defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending. Plan A Master’s students are not required to announce their defense.
Thu, Aug 24 Conferral date for Summer 2023 degrees. Final examinations for Plan B Master’s and Sixth-Year Certificate students must be completed by this date.
Fri, Sep 8 Last day for Degree Audit (degreeaudit@uconn.edu) to receive the approved Plan B and Sixth-Year Certificate Master’s Report on the Final Exam.