2018-19 Academic Calendar

Fall 2018

Date Deadline/Event
Mon., Aug. 27 Fall semester begins
Mon., Sept. 3 Labor Day – No classes
Tues., Sept. 4 Last day to file petitions for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Mon., Sept. 10 Add/Drop via Student Administration System closes. Courses added or dropped after this date require additional signatures (see chart). Dropped courses will have a “W” for withdrawal recorded on the academic record.
Last day to place courses on Pass/Fail (Undergraduate students only)
Mon., Sept. 17 Last day for students to make up Incomplete or Absence grades (Undergraduate students only)
Tues.-Mon., Sept. 18-24 Examinations for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Fri., Sept. 21 Deadline to apply for graduation and to submit Final Plan of Study for conferral of a Fall 2018 degree
Tues., Sept. 25 Dean’s signature required to add courses
Fri., Oct. 5 Mid-semester progress reports due students from faculty
Mon., Oct. 22 Registration for the Spring 2019 semester via Student Administration System begins
Mon., Oct. 29 Last day to drop a course
Last day to convert courses on Pass/Fail option to letter grade (Undergraduate students only)
Sun.-Sat., Nov. 18-24 Thanksgiving recess
Fri., Nov. 30 Last day for degree candidates to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Fall 2018 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announcement two weeks prior to defending. (Graduate students only)
Fri., Dec. 7 Last day of fall semester classes
Mon., Dec. 10 Final examinations begin
Thurs., Dec. 13 Reading Day
Sun., Dec. 16 Final examinations end
Sun., Dec. 16 Conferral date for Fall 2018 degrees
Wed., Dec. 19 Grades are due at noon
Fri., Dec. 28 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar (Graduate students only)

Spring 2019

Date Deadline/Event
Tue., Jan. 22 Spring semester begins
Mon., Jan. 28 Last day to file petitions for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Mon., Feb. 4 Add/Drop via Student Administration System closes. Courses added or dropped after this date require additional signatures (see chart). Dropped courses will have a “W” for withdrawal recorded on the academic record.
Last day to place courses on Pass/Fail (Undergraduate students only)
Mon., Feb. 11 Last day for students to make up Incomplete or Absence grades (Undergraduate students only)
Tue.-Mon., Feb. 12-18 Examinations for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Fri., Feb. 15 Deadline to apply for graduation and to submit Final Plan of Study for conferral of a Spring 2019 degree
Tue., Feb. 19 Dean’s signature required to add courses
Fri., March 1 Mid-semester progress reports due students from faculty
Sun.-Sat., March 17-23 Spring recess
Mon., March 25 Registration for the Fall 2019 semester via Student Administration System begins
Sat., March 30 Emergency closing class make up date
Mon., Apr. 1 Last day to drop a course
Last day to convert courses on Pass/Fail option to letter grade (Undergraduate students only)
Fri., Apr. 26 Last day to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Spring 2019 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announcement two weeks prior to defending. (Graduate students only)
Fri., May 3 Last day of spring semester classes
Mon.-Sat., May 6-11 Final examinations
Sat.-Sun., May 11-12 Undergraduate commencement ceremonies
Sat., May 11 Graduate School Masters commencement ceremony
Sun., May 12 Conferral date for Spring 2019 degrees
Mon., May 13 Graduate School Doctoral commencement ceremony
Fri., May 24 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar (Graduate students only)

Summer 2019 Graduate Student Deadlines

The summer calendar and detailed information concerning the summer session may be obtained from the Office of Summer and Winter Programs. For course offering, registration procedures, fees, and deadlines, please consult summersession.uconn.edu.

Date Deadline/Event
Fri., Aug. 9 Last day to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Summer 2019 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announcement two weeks prior to defending. (Graduate students only)
Fri., Aug. 23 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar (Graduate students only)
Sat., Aug. 24 Conferral date for Summer 2019 degrees