2019-20 Academic Calendar

The calendars below are for the current academic year. Links to past, future, and printable calendars are on the sidebar to the right (or at the bottom of this page on mobile devices). Click the buttons below to jump to a particular term.

Fall 2019

Date Deadline/Event
Mon, Aug 26 Fall semester begins
Mon, Sep 2 Labor Day – No classes
Tue, Sep 3 Last day to file petitions for course credit by examination
Mon, Sep 9 Courses dropped after this date will have a “W” for withdrawal recorded on the academic record. Last day to add or drop courses without additional signatures (see Adding and Dropping Courses).
Last day to place courses on Pass/Fail
Mon, Sep 16 Last day for students to make up Incomplete or Absence grades
Tue, Sep 17-Mon, Sep 23 Examinations for course credit by examination
Fri, Sep 20 Deadline to apply for graduation and to submit Final Plan of Study for conferral of a Fall 2019 degree
Tue, Sep 24 Dean’s signature required to add courses
Fri, Oct 4 Mid-semester progress reports due students from faculty
Mon, Oct 21 Registration for the Winter 2020 and Spring 2020 semester via Student Administration System begins
Mon, Oct 28 Last day to withdraw from a course
Last day to convert courses on Pass/Fail option to letter grade
Sun, Nov 24-Sat, Nov 30 Thanksgiving Recess
Fri, Nov 29 Last day for degree candidates to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Fall 2019 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending. (Graduate students only)
Fri, Dec 6 Last day of fall semester classes
Sat, Dec 7-Sun, Dec 8 Reading Days
Mon, Dec 9 Final examinations begin
Thu, Dec 12 Reading Day
Sun, Dec 15 Final examinations end
Sun, Dec 15 Conferral date for Fall 2019 degrees
Wed, Dec 18 Semester grades due at 4 pm
Fri, Dec 27 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar (Graduate students only)

Spring 2020

Date Deadline/Event
Tue, Jan 21 Spring semester begins
Mon, Jan 27 Last day to file petitions for course credit by examination
Mon, Feb 3 Courses dropped after this date will have a “W” for withdrawal recorded on the academic record. Last day to add or drop courses without additional signatures (see Adding and Dropping Courses).
Last day to place courses on Pass/Fail
Mon, Feb 10 Last day for students to make up Incomplete or Absence grades
Tue, Feb 11-Mon, Feb 17 Examinations for course credit by examination
Fri, Feb 14 Deadline to apply for graduation and to submit Final Plan of Study for conferral of a Spring 2020 degree
Tue, Feb 18 Dean’s signature required to add courses
Fri, Feb 28 Mid-semester progress reports due students from faculty
Sun, Mar 1 Deadline to apply for Summer 2020 graduation (it is recommended that students submit a Final Plan of Study by the end of the Spring term)
Sun, Mar 15-Sat, Mar 21 Spring Recess
Mon, Mar 23 Registration for the Summer 2020 sessions and Fall 2020 semester via Student Administration System begins
Sat, Mar 28 Emergency closing class makeup date
Mon, Mar 30 Last day to drop a course
Last day to convert courses on Pass/Fail option to letter grade
Fri, May 1 Last day of spring semester classes
Sat, May 2-Sun, May 3 Reading Days
Mon, May 4-Sat, May 9 Final examinations
Fri, May 8

Last day to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Spring 2020 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending (Graduate students only).

NOTE: Due to the current extraordinary circumstances, the Graduate School and Registrar’s Office have extended the deadline to submit all required final, approved Dissertation and Thesis paperwork to Friday, May 8, 2020. It is recommended that students defend their dissertation or thesis at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow time for edits and updates.

Sat, May 9-Sun, May 10 Undergraduate commencement ceremonies
Sat, May 9 Graduate School Master’s commencement ceremony
Sun, May 10 Conferral date for Spring 2020 degrees
Mon, May 11 Graduate School Doctoral commencement ceremony
Tue, May 12 Semester grades due at 4pm
Fri, May 22 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar (Graduate students only)

Summer 2020

Date Deadline/Event
Mon, Aug 10 Last day to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Summer 2020 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending. (Graduate students only)
Mon, Aug 24 Conferral date for Summer 2020 degrees
Fri, Sep 11 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar. Final exam must be complete prior to August 24 for Summer 2020 degree conferral eligibility. (Graduate students only)