2019-20 Academic Calendar

The calendars below are for the current academic year. Links to past, future, and printable calendars are on the sidebar to the right (or at the bottom of this page on mobile devices). Click the buttons below to jump to a particular term.

Summer 2019 Graduate Student Deadlines

The summer calendar and detailed information concerning the summer session may be obtained from the Office of Summer and Winter Programs. For course offering, registration procedures, fees, and deadlines, please consult summersession.uconn.edu.

Date Deadline/Event
Fri., Aug. 9 Last day to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Summer 2019 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending. (Graduate students only)
Sat., Aug. 24 Conferral date for Summer 2019 degrees
Fri., Sep. 6 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar. Final exam must be complete prior to August 24 for Summer 2019 degree conferral eligibility. (Graduate students only)

Fall 2019

Date Deadline/Event
Mon., Aug. 26 Fall semester begins
Mon., Sept. 2 Labor Day – No classes
Tues., Sept. 3 Last day to file petitions for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Mon., Sept. 9 Add/Drop via Student Administration System closes. Courses added or dropped after this date require additional signatures (see chart). Dropped courses will have a “W” for withdrawal recorded on the academic record.
Last day to place courses on Pass/Fail (Undergraduate students only)
Mon., Sept. 16 Last day for students to make up Incomplete or Absence grades (Undergraduate students only)
Tues.-Mon., Sept. 17-23 Examinations for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Fri., Sept. 20 Deadline to apply for graduation and to submit Final Plan of Study for conferral of a Fall 2019 degree
Tues., Sept. 24 Dean’s signature required to add courses
Fri., Oct. 4 Mid-semester progress reports due students from faculty
Mon., Oct. 21 Registration for the Winter 2020 and Spring 2020 semester via Student Administration System begins
Mon., Oct. 28 Last day to drop a course
Last day to convert courses on Pass/Fail option to letter grade (Undergraduate students only)
Sun.-Sat., Nov. 24-30 Thanksgiving recess
Mon., Dec. 2 Last day for degree candidates to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Fall 2019 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending. (Graduate students only)
Fri., Dec. 6 Last day of fall semester classes
Sat.-Sun., Dec. 7-8 Reading Days
Mon., Dec. 9 Final examinations begin
Thurs., Dec. 12 Reading Day
Sun., Dec. 15 Final examinations end
Sun., Dec. 15 Conferral date for Fall 2019 degrees
Wed., Dec. 18 Grades are due at 4 pm
Fri., Dec. 27 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar (Graduate students only)

Spring 2020

Date Deadline/Event
Tue., Jan. 21 Spring semester begins
Mon., Jan. 27 Last day to file petitions for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Mon., Feb. 3 Add/Drop via Student Administration System closes. Courses added or dropped after this date require additional signatures (see chart). Dropped courses will have a “W” for withdrawal recorded on the academic record.
Last day to place courses on Pass/Fail (Undergraduate students only)
Mon., Feb. 10 Last day for students to make up Incomplete or Absence grades (Undergraduate students only)
Tue.-Mon., Feb. 11-17 Examinations for course credit by examination (Undergraduate students only)
Fri., Feb. 14 Deadline to apply for graduation and to submit Final Plan of Study for conferral of a Spring 2020 degree
Tue., Feb. 18 Dean’s signature required to add courses
Fri., Feb. 28 Mid-semester progress reports due from faculty
Sun.-Sat., March 15-21 Spring recess
Mon., March 23 Registration for the Summer 2020 sessions and Fall 2020 semester via Student Administration System begins
Sat., March 28 Emergency closing class make up date
Mon., March 30 Last day to drop a course
Last day to convert courses on Pass/Fail option to letter grade (Undergraduate students only)
Fri., Apr. 24 Last day to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Spring 2020 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending. (Graduate students only)
Fri., May 1 Last day of spring semester classes
Sat.-Sun., May 2-3 Reading Days
Mon.-Sat., May 4-9 Final examinations
Sat.-Sun., May 9-10 Undergraduate commencement ceremonies
Sat., May 9 Graduate School Masters commencement ceremony
Sun., May 10 Conferral date for Spring 2020 degrees
Mon., May 11 Graduate School Doctoral commencement ceremony
Tue., May 12 Grades are due at 4:00 PM
Fri., May 22 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar (Graduate students only)

Summer 2020 Graduate Student Deadlines

The summer calendar and detailed information concerning the summer session may be obtained from the Office of Summer and Winter Programs. For course offering, registration procedures, fees, and deadlines, please consult summersession.uconn.edu.

Date Deadline/Event
Mon., Aug. 10 Last day to submit thesis and dissertation final copies to Open Commons and related paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar for conferral of a Summer 2020 degree. It is recommended that students defend at least two weeks prior to this deadline to allow for revisions. Defense must be announced two weeks prior to defending. (Graduate students only)
Mon., Aug. 24 Conferral date for Summer 2019 degrees
Fri., Sep. 4 Last day for Plan B master’s students to submit final exam paperwork to Degree Audit in the Office of the Registrar. Final exam must be complete prior to August 24 for Summer 2020 degree conferral eligibility. (Graduate students only)